Fishing events

We hold a range of fishing activities and lessons for both beginners and experienced anglers.


The 'get into fishing' club

Sessions for beginners and improvers, where a coach will teach you a range of techniques and skills.

The session includes a beginner day ticket, so you can continue fishing after the session until you reach the bag limit. All equipment can be provided, or you can bring your own.

Date, time and location

The activities will take place at:

Clatworthy: Monday 18 March, Monday 25 March, Monday 1 April, Monday 8 April and Monday 15 April.

Sutton Bingham: Wednesday 20 March, Wednesday 27 March, Wednesday 3 April, Wednesday 10 April and Wednesday 17 April.

Hawkridge: Thursday 21 March, Thursday 28 March, Thursday 4 April, Thursday 11 April and Thursday 18 April.

Each activity will run for two hours from 10am to 12pm.

Price

£10 per session.

Angler fishing

Introduction to boat fishing

As the waters begin to warm, some of the best fishing is to be had from a boat, where you can access the deeper or colder areas of our reservoirs.

These bespoke lessons will provide you with basic instructions on how to set up and manoeuvre a boat, while also teaching you how to use a drogue or anchor.

A maximum of two people can take part in a lesson.

Date, time and location

The lessons will take place on:

  • Wednesday 1 May at Sutton Bingham
  • Monday 6 May at Clatworthy
  • Thursday 9 May at Hawkridge
  • Monday 13 May at Clatworthy
  • Thursday 16 May at Hawkridge

Each lesson will run from 10am to 1pm and 2pm to 5pm.

Prices

  • Adult tickets - £50
  • Junior tickets - £35
  • Concession tickets - £45
Couple fishing in a boat

Improver fishing sessions (methods and depths)

Learn skills and techniques that will ensure you continue catching fish towards the end of the season.

We will also teach you about fly life, how different fly lines and flies work, how they present themselves through the water column, and what time of year to expect certain food sources.

A maximum of two people can take part in a session.

Date, time and location

The sessions will take place on:

  • Monday 30 September at Clatworthy
  • Thursday 3 October at Hawkridge
  • Monday 7 October at Clatworthy
  • Thursday 10 October at Hawkridge

Each lesson will run from 10am to 1pm and 2pm to 5pm.

Prices

  • Adult tickets - £50
  • Junior tickets - £35
  • Concession tickets - £45
Child holding a fish

Fly fishing and casting lessons with Orvis

Whether you’re new to fly fishing or are looking to improve your skills, you could benefit from one of the lessons from Orvis.

Date, time and location

Orvis is holding lessons for those who would like to learn how to fly fish on:

  • Sunday 29 April at Sutton Bingham
  • Sunday 19 May at Sutton Bingham

Both sessions will run from 10am to 11.30am.

Price

Free

How to book

You do not need to book, so you can just show up on the day.

Angler holding a fish

Fly fishing and casting lessons with Hywel Morgan

Whether you’re new to fly fishing or are looking to improve your skills, you could benefit from one of the lessons from Hywel.

Date, time and location

World Fly Casting Champion Hywel Morgan will be helping anglers improve their technique and learn new methods on:

  • Sunday 21 April at Sutton Bingham

The lesson will run from 9am to 5pm.

Price

£100 per session (to be paid direct to Hywel Morgan).

How to book

To find out more or book a lesson, call Hywel on 07812 197891 or email him at info@hywelmorgan.co.uk.

Man holding a fish